WWII veterans holding their own pictures…

Sometimes as I’m  working on rewriting and rehearsing my show I wonder what it’s all for. It seems so self-centered to be doing an entire show written by me, performed by me, promoted by me… I have to remember that the purpose is to share and honor the experiences of those who can no longer tell their tale. To keep the real memories of war alive for future generations–and the dead.

I found this slideshow of pictures of veterans holding their photos from WWII and it reminded me of the point of it all. The images are from the book The Last Good War, by Thomas Sanders.

The pictures include a shot of Edith Shain, the nurse immortalized by Alfred Eisenstaedt’s picture of her being kissed by a soldier in Times Square on V-J Day.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/pictureshow/2010/11/10/131226061/veterans-visual-memories-of-wwii

Leave a Reply

